Link to Lyons Redstone Museum theClio walking tour
Lyons Redstone Museum - 340 High Street
The 1881 sandstone building was one of the original structures in the Lyons town site. It was originally a schoolhouse and is now the Lyons Redstone Museum. The schoolhouse was built in 1881 using sandstone donated by town founder Edward S. Lyon. In 1895, the school was expanded and a second story was added using wooden construction. In 1902, a two story addition was constructed on the west side of the building. The building was used as a school until 1977.
The Old Stone Church - 408 High Street
The Old Stone Church is located on the corner of High Street and 4th Avenue. It was built in 1894 using locally quarried sandstone. As more people were settling in the area, Edward Lyon began to worry for the local youth. He had built the schoolhouse in 1881 but he felt that there was a need for a permanent pastor because the town had many saloons, and the kids had to have some spiritual upbringing.
The Stone House - Currently Ralston Brothers Antique Store - 426 High Street
The Ralston Brothers Antique store was originally the Stone House built in 1884 by Edward S. Lyon. The town founders used it for many purposes including a general store, a post office, and a surveyors office. The Stone House functioned as a post office while Edward S. Lyon served as postmaster from 1889 to 1893. The building was a source of convenience for the town. People were able to pick up a few groceries, their mail, and catch up on information from stagecoach travelers all in one stop.
Lyons Post Office - Currently Lyons Vet Clinic - 412 High Street
Step into a living testament to Lyons' rich quarrying heritage at 412 High St. Built by the Loukonen family in 1961, this building features a façade of the town's iconic sandstone. The Loukonens, who started their quarrying business in 1890, ingeniously combined block, concrete, and local sandstone to construct this architectural gem. Over the years, the building has seen several transformations, including a 1970s facade update and a 1995 renovation. Notably, the structure served as the Post Office until 1976, reflecting its central role in the community. This edifice, crafted by the hands of expert quarrymen, embodies the enduring legacy of Lyons.
Dynamite Storage Building - 427 High Street
This small sandstone building was constructed in 1890. It was once used to store dynamite for the quarry workers. Lyons, Colorado was built around the quarries. The Dynamite Storage Building is an artifact from that era. Quarry workers used dynamite to blast through the canyon and break apart oversized boulders. Once they reached the sandstone, they used tools such as drills and plugs and feathers to break the slabs of stone into the desired sizes.
The Montgomery Home - 409 Seward Street
The Montgomery Home is a one-story house that was built in the 1880s. It was built by Lyons stonemasons using locally quarried sandstone. The Montgomery Home continues to be a private residence, as it has been since it was originally built. The home is currently a private residence. Please view the building from the street.
The Cunningham/Weese Home - 413 Seward Street
The Cunningham/Weese Home at 413 Seward Street was built as a private residence in the 1890s. The beautiful home combines skilled craftsmanship and Lyons sandstone. The majority of the structure is sandstone. It has a sharply gabled roof with two windows near the roof line. The original inhabitants of the home most likely moved to the area in order to take part in the town’s growing economy. The home is currently a private residence. Please view the building from the street.
The Chisholm Home - 425 Seward Street
The Chisholm Home is one of three historic residences on Seward Street. It was built in the 1890s by the Chisholm family. Alexander Chisholm was considered an expert blacksmith in Lyons and he built his home to be used as a residence as well as a blacksmith shop. This is evident from the 18 inch exterior walls. They are made up of two stone walls which are separated by an air space. This was a building method used to create insulation for the structure. The home is a private residence. Please view the building from the street. The McAllister Saloon - Currently Main Stage Pizza - 450 Main Street
The McAllister Saloon - Currently Main Stage Pizza - 450 Main Street
The McAllister Saloon was one of the first structures built along what is now Main Street. It is a single story building that was constructed by Hiram Sawyer in 1881. The building housed the McAllister Saloon for five years. Then in 1890, Nicholas Frank purchased the building and turned it into a meat market. N. Frank & Bros. offered dressed meat of all kinds from animals that were slaughtered on the Nicholas Frank homestead. The building has since been used as a restaurant.
General Store - Currently South Creek LTD - 415 Main Street
This two-story sandstone building was constructed as a commercial and residential space on Main Street. It has several common features of nineteenth century commercial architecture and has been the location of several businesses throughout Lyons history. It has a slightly recessed entryway and a decorative cornice at the roof line. The building was originally meant to be a general store as well as residential space. The first floor would have been the store, while the top floor would have been apartments. This space currently houses South Creek Ltd. Bamboo Rods.
Turner-Stevens Building - Currently Solhawk - 401 Main Street
The sandstone structure was named after banker Marvin Turner and garage owner C.E. Stevens. It was originally built to be a bank, but has housed many businesses over the years. The Turner-Stevens Building was constructed in 1917 to house the Bank of Lyons. The Bank of Lyons was established circa 1904 by George Stickney. After his death, son-in-law Marvin Turner continued bank operations. In 1921 O.J. Ramey became associated with the bank and it became the State Bank of Lyons, which operated until the 1930s.
Lyons Boomtown Building - Currently Lovely By Nature Grooming - 419 Main Street
Step back in time at 419 Main St., the Lyons Boomtown Building, a rare example of 19th-century false-front architecture. Constructed in the 1890s, its façade exudes an air of old-west sophistication, unusual given Lyons' sandstone quarrying history. Notable owner John Hecker, known as the "Barley King," was a saloon operator turned Colorado Senator. A populist and Democrat, he notably opposed women’s suffrage despite Colorado being a pioneer in that right. This versatile building has worn many hats: from saloon to telephone exchange in the early 1900s, and more recently, everything from a craft store to a Montessori school. Don’t miss this unique glimpse into Lyons’ architectural and political past.
Burlington Hotel - Building Demolished in 2022 - 349 Main Street
Step into the rich past of 349 Main St., originally the site of the Mountain View Hotel built around 1880. J.W. "Doc" Holliday moved the split building to this location in 1903, rebranding it the Burlington Hotel. Refurbished in 1907, it featured modern conveniences like furnace heat and its own gas plant. Icibinda Bloomfield, its longest-serving proprietor, managed the only dining room in town during the 1940s and '50s. Serving various roles—from a tuberculosis sanitorium to a hub for outdoor tourism—this building was a multifaceted gem in Lyons' history. Though demolished in 2022, its story remains an indelible part of the town's fabric.
Evans Homestead - 500 West Main Street
The Evans Homestead was built in 1870 by William Sites. It was originally called the Miller Road House, but was changed to the Evans Homestead after it was purchased by Griffith Evans. Like many structures constructed in the Lyons area during this time period, it was built using sandstone from the local quarries. It operated as a stagecoach stop and inn between Denver and Estes Park. The Evans Homestead is currently a private residence. Please view from the road.
FIFTH AVENUE - HIGHWAY 7
Train Depot - The Depot Building (Boulder County Sheriff's Office) - 430 5th Avenue
The Lyons Depot was built in 1885 and is a standard design for a nineteenth century train depot. When Edward S. Lyon, Hiram Sawyer, and Griffith Evans first started quarrying limestone and sandstone, there was no rail line into Lyons. They had to haul the heavy stone by wagon all the way to Lyons in order to send it to Denver. In 1885, the Denver, Utah, and Pacific Railroad built a narrow gauge track into Lyons. That same year, the train depot was built. The depot closed in 1960. It was saved from demolition by the Lyons Historical Society and was used as a library between 1977 and 2013. The building was renovated after the 2013 flood.
Diesel-Electric Light and Power Plant - Currently Town Hall - 432 5th Avenue
Discover the transformative history of Lyons' Town Hall, a multi-layered monument to community growth and ingenuity. Born from land sold by Maggie Smith—a stalwart citizen who ran the nearby St. Vrain House hotel—this building began life in 1936 as a cutting-edge, diesel-electric power plant. Crafted from Lyons' signature red sandstone, its architectural finesse caught eyes, while its engineering prowess captivated minds, even attracting tourists. Sherman Bohn, a Lyons resident and the town's electrician, was chosen to operate the plant and lived on-site. The plant soon became a symbol of local autonomy and innovation, exceeding the town's electrical needs and saving residents money. Although Town Hall has expanded over the years, its original stone core remains, steadfastly anchoring Lyons' civic heart.
Texaco Station - Currently Vintage Motors of Lyons - 602 5th Avenue
Imagine standing at the bustling Main Street intersection, where Highways 36 and 7 diverge towards Estes Park and Allenspark. Picture the 20th-century scene: the Town Hall, Jail, Firehouse, and businesses dotting 5th Avenue. Modified over time for smoother traffic to Estes Park, this junction dramatically reshaped the town's western edge. 602 5th Avenue stands as a testament to the intertwined histories of Colorado tourism and American roadways. Dubbed the "Double Gateway to the West," this pivotal spot channels travelers onto either Highway 7 or 36, both leading to the breathtaking vistas of the Rocky Mountains and Estes Park.
PARK DRIVE AND FIFTH STREET
Meadows Park - LaVern M. Johnson Park - 600 Park Drive
Step back in time to experience Meadow Park, now renamed LaVern M. Johnson Park, a natural haven that once captured the imaginations of train passengers journeying from Denver. Established in the late 1800s, this park became an essential stop on the railway line that facilitated Lyons' booming sandstone industry. Imagine disembarking from a train to picnic amid breathtaking rock formations, lush trees, and the rippling St. Vrain river—described as the state's most beautiful picnic ground by railroad spokespeople. Over the decades, the park hosted a myriad of events, from grand company picnics to spirited ball games. Although impacted by a shift toward automobiles and a devastating flood in 1919, the community rallied to restore it. Led by community stalwart LaVern M. Johnson, the town eventually purchased the land in 1989, reaffirming its enduring role as a sanctuary for nature lovers and community gatherings alike. The park faced another flood in 2013 but bounced back, reopening in 2016. In honor of LaVern M. Johnson's dedication, it was officially renamed to bear her legacy.
The Bradford Homestead was built in the late nineteenth century by Charles Bradford. He turned the land into a farm, which was one of his many money-making ventures. A large fruit farm was on one of the adjoining farm tracts. The Bradford Homestead is currently on private property and is registered in the National Register of Historic Places. Please view the building from the road.
Sites Milkhouse - 4089 Ute Highway
Sites Milkhouse was built by William Sites, who was one of the first farmers of the St. Vrain Valley. He used this building to store dairy products. Sites ran a dairy farm east of Lyons. The milk from his farm was cooled by the spring water that ran through the milkhouse. Dairying was an evolving industry during the nineteenth century. The Sites Milkhouse is on private property. Please view from the road.
The Montgomery Schoolhouse - 5291 Ute Highway
The Montgomery Schoolhouse was built in 1917 and sits at the edge of town on private property. It is not within easy walking distance, but with a short drive you can view the structure. It is a 30x40 foot bi-level building. The building was used as a school until the 1950s. It was purchased in 1965 by Wilbur and Hazel Wolfe, who restored and renovated the building in order to turn it into a private residence. Please view from the road.